Opus 1 Music

professional music notation software

Download a free copy

Latest News

NoteAbilityPro on the IPad can now be downloaded from the App Store. This version of NAPro can be used to edit scores created on the Desktop version and vice versa. Search on the App Store for "NAPro"

A new version of NoteAbilityPro - 64-bit is available for download and is compatible with Mac OS-X 10.15 (Catalina), 11 (Big Sur) and 12 (Monterey).

NoteAbilityPro - 32-bit (version 2.658) for Mac OS-X is available for download. This version of NoteAbilityPro runs on Apple Macintosh computers with OS-X versions 10.6.8 through to 10.14.

NAPro has increased it playback capabilities with new orchestral samples and support for banks with different instrumental articulations.

NoteAbilityPro is now distributed as a free application. Customers who previously purchased NAPro will still be given technical support on an on-going basis.

NoteAbilityPro has been expanded to support up to 80 staves per system.

NoteAbilityPro now supports custom noteheads. Up to 240 graphic images can be added to the score and used as custom noteheads.

NoteAbilityPro can now support up to 6 Audio Unit players such as software samplers or synthesizers modules.

NoteAbilityPro scores can now be saved directly as audio files.

NoteAbilityPro can now import NoteWriter and MusicXML files.

An auto-save feature has been added to NoteAbilityPro-2 so that your scores are saved periodically while you are working.

NoteAbilityPro-2 supports 6 DLS (Downloadable Sounds) Players and Audio Units so that you can get more realistic performances of your scores and have access to audio effects (such as reverberation and digital delay). As well, you can now drag-and-drop audio files or samples directly into the score.


NoteAbilityPro (3.222) for Mac OS-X

December 2021

NoteWriter (2.90) for Macintosh

September 1998

Site Map

Opus 1 Music is a premier music software solutions company providing music notation programs for Macintosh computers. The company was founded in 1996 by Dr. Keith Hamel, who is a professor of music composition at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada and a specialist in Computer Applications to Music. Dr. Hamel is also the primary researcher and software developer at Opus 1 Music.

Contact Us

Opus 1 Music
3456 Dunbar St.
Vancouver, B.C.

These pages were designed by Keith Hamel
Last modified:


© 2000-2022 Keith Hamel